Man is not made to be alone

Genesis 1:8-18

8 The LORD God planted a garden eastward in Eden, and there He put the man whom He had formed. 9 And out of the ground the LORD God made every tree grow that is pleasant to the sight and good for food. The tree of life was also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.
10 Now a river went out of Eden to water the garden, and from there it parted and became four riverheads. 11 The name of the first is Pishon; it is the one which skirts the whole land of Havilah, where there is gold. 12 And the gold of that land is good. Bdellium and the onyx stone are there. 13 The name of the second river is Gihon; it is the one which goes around the whole land of Cush. 14 The name of the third river is Hiddekel;[b] it is the one which goes toward the east of Assyria. The fourth river is the Euphrates.
15 Then the LORD God took the man and put him in the garden of Eden to tend and keep it. 16 And the LORD God commanded the man, saying, “Of every tree of the garden you may freely eat; 17 but of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat of it you shall surely die.”
18 And the LORD God said, “It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.”

Granted that this passage was never meant to illustrate fellowship but I hope you get what I am about to talk write on. The previous scripture is about a help-mate , a wife but man needs fellowship and referring to our walk we especially need fellowship. Adam had everything that he could ever want or need but the only thing that was missing was that one on one with someone else. There… now that I have said that let me ask you a question. What is wrong with me? Ok no snickering even though you don’t know me. Let me give you a little background

My wife and I were unchurched for many years. It is the same old story that you hear, “We were hurt by a church and just didn’t want to go through it again” you know all the same thing that you hear but about 5 years ago I really met Jesus (I think I was playing christian for all those years) I have been to many churches in the past few years. I went to a contemporary Souther Baptist church and then I went to a non-denominational former church of Christ. I visited numerous Baptist, Bapti-costal, Churches of Christ, and even a Calvary Chapel. Now the whole time my wife is not attending with me because of health issues and other things but the kids are. I am as of today attending another Souther Baptist Church with a very close friend of mine. I am attending this church because I wanted to support my friend who is like a physical brother. This Church is growing on me a little but I am not sure if it is the one for me. Now my wife, in about 3 or 4 weeks is going to be able to finally start going with me so that we can find a Church together as a family. That said, I also feel called to be a teacher/pastor of some sort, well I know that is what is on my heart to do but being away from Church for so long has made it hard to just start somewhere because it takes a long time to get to know people and have them know you enbough to be used to effect the body. I like each Church I go to and I love everyone there but at the same time after a while I start feeling that there is some invisible wall that comes up and it really cramps my link to them. I know that fellowship is what the Lord wants for each one of us.

 My question is this:

What is wrong with me? Better yet, what is wrong with what I am doing?

I feel as though I have given up a place that the Lord set for me a long time ago but I forsook it in some way.

Am I being picky or is that He calls us to serve in a particular part of the body?

Or can you just pick a Church and go there and then something will open up?

Am I trying too hard or not enough?

Am I basing too much on feelings or what I feel that the Lord put on my heart?

Am I to just be patient and let the Lord work it out for me or am I to take a more active role?

I welcome ANY comments.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Man is not made to be alone

  1. mattdabbs says:

    This takes a lot of prayer. The question I hear you asking is, “How can I discern the will of God at this time in my life?” That is not always an easy thing to do but there are a few things that can help. The first is to do your best to be obedient. An obedient posture helps you pick out God’s calling from all the others. 2) Keep it in prayer. Pray that God make the decision of what you need to do clear. Also ask others to pray about this. 3) Seek out godly counsel. That is part of what you are doing here but don’t leave out getting counsel from local ministers, etc. 4) Watch the pieces start to fall into place. Things should start pointing in one direction or another after a while. I hope that helps a little. You never know how God will answer. The important thing is that you are seeking Him out rather than just trying to do it all your way.

  2. Clint Rodgers says:

    Thank you for the insight. I am amazed at finding out that the further I walk with the Lord – or the more I puff up then suddenly I am realizing that I really don’t know anything. It has been humbling these past few months and I am thinking more and more that pride has been a problem for me. Please pray for me – It is one of those deals where I know most of the time what the motive is behind things that I do (even in my search for a local fellowship) and it has been pride and trust. These two are what I have been running up against with the Lord. Pray for me brother and thank you very much for the insight

  3. Pure Search says:

    Thanks for your blog! Add your blog for free to http://www.puresearch.org.uk Search with Pure Search http://www.puresearch.org.uk

Leave a Reply

