Standing in line

There I was last Friday, standing in line at the bank, waiting to feed the monster so that we can live for another week. The line was longer than normal this week, of course because of the Labor Day weekend. I enjoy the waiting sometimes because I sometimes think best when I am doing something else, driving works good too. I guess my mind doesn’t slow down enough to process things sometimes and it is usually something like a long line that kicks it down a notch.

I wondered what all the other folks thought as they stood there like me waiting becuase everyone looked irritated and uncomfortable, even the tellers. One thing that helped relieve the tension is that this certain bank had a television on in the corner and a soccer game was on. It caught my eye because I had never really sat down long enough to watch one. As I watched (now I am tripli-tasking) I thought about my last post and just how I could word my thought more clearly and get what was in this brain out onto paper, rather electronic paper and as I stood there a few thought came to mind. I will try to make them as clear as possible but don’t expect some complex deep thoughts to come out, I am not Jack Handy.

Life may very well be a box of chocolates…..but church can be one of many things to us. There are a lot more, I am sure but these came to mind as stood there.

1. We can treat it like we are standing in a long line at the bank.

we were all standing there in line, staring straight ahead, and trying not to look at each other. It was very uncomfortable, wating there together to put our money into the bank. I wonder how amny times I had done this at church. How many times have wecome together for worship, found our place in the pew, and kept staring right in front of us waiting to put our money in the Bank of God and get out of there as soon as possible. This thought made Hebrews 10:25 take a new meaning for me. (

Heb 10:23 Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;)

Heb 10:24 And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:

Heb 10:25 Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.

Have I been guilty of forsaking the assembly? Not in my not being there physically but mentally. Have I been guilty of what I described earlier?

2. We can treat it like we are in line waiting to see a movie or concert.

We can get lost in trying to “get mine” and come to church to see, feel, or get something from service and trying to fill that hole that only Jesus can fill. That also stands for Christians, you know. Even if we are there to help others or that is what we think, by speaking or doing a devotion (I am stepping on my own toes here) and only coming to be seen or I guess to entertain others.

3. We are waiting in line to ride a roller coaster.

There we all are getting ready for something together. We are there for the same purpose and that is to experience something. In our case it would be fellowship through Christ.

Granted these are simple but don’t say I didn’t warn you before hand. In my next post or part two of this one I will tell you what I decided in that line and then this afternoon while mowing the grass. God is more than good.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

