Standing in line Part 2

Some other things came to mind as I watched the soccer game.

We should all be like teams

Not that we should all be in competition against each other but that each local assembly should be together for the same purpose just like these two teams were. They were there to win. We are here to witness to others and point them to Jesus and we are there to finish the race well.

We need fellowship like the team needs practice. They come together through practice otherwise what they do is useless and they won’t be able to come together when the time is right and they are needed.

The team members know each other. They spend time bonding when not in practice so that they will get to know each other. We must be together – we must come together and take the time to know each other. I have been to a service with a large fellowship and yet I felt like I was all alone. I wanted to run out of the building. I don’t want that for anyone else. I have also been to a fellowship where they are so unintrusive that they won’t speak to a potential member at all and that turns people away. Yet false love will too. What I want from myself is somewhere in the middle as far as I am concerned.

As I stood in line another thought occurred to me. In thinking about what Peter says in 1 Peter 3:15

1Pe 3:15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

 Was I showing that hope to all the people that surrounded me in that line. Tha answer is obviously no, especially with the attitude I have had lately

1. I am not going to forsake the fellowhip and I am going to try to become more of an encourager *Hebrews 10:25. A coupke of us began talking and it broke the ice. We all began to smile bak and forth as we talked about the line and Labor day but the point is that we were connecting even if it was just for a few minutes

2. I am going to be content in what God has called me to do already. Gods calling is not always a calling to a public ministry. Sometimes it is where He has already put you. I am going to be content and do what He has already told me to do. Teach my family first

Eph 4:1 I therefore, the prisoner in the Lord, beseech you to walk worthily of the calling wherewith ye were called,

Eph 4:2 with all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love;

Eph 4:3 giving diligence to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

3. I am going to get a new Bible translation for reading and study. Thanks Matt ;) I have been reading the KJV too long and I need a challenge

4. I am going to stop lifting self. It is not that I am to decrease and just let Jesus increase but that the “I” in me is to decrease and the “He” (Jesus, just in case you didn’t know) is to increase in me. I am not going to fill my lide with endless study after study just to show that I am smart or that I am a brilliant teacher. If I say or do nothing else ever again because HE didn’t give it to me for the lifting up of Jesus or to help someone else in their walk then I will remain speechless. If it isn’t about Jesus then it isn’t worth saying.

I think that is it. Next post I am going to ponder the blood on King David’s hands and how it might apply to my life in some way.

God is better than good

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Standing in line Part 2

  1. Christian says:

    God is Love! May your experience God’s Love anew this Day :) God Bless You Lets Spread Jesus’ Love :)

Leave a Reply

