A new Revelation

A New Revelation

I chose that title because I have come to a new revaltion in my walk with Christ in the recent days. I have known Jesus for many, many years but I actually found out what it meant to have a personal relationship with Him about 5 years ago. Well through the wonderful guiding Han dof the Lord, He made a way for me to sit at the feet of many gifted and Godly teachers. He brought these teachers into my life when I needed it. He used these wonderful teachers to guide me through the foundation of His word in each level of revelation and understanding I resided in during my walk with Him. I had many, many stacks of studies that I had listened to, outlined and saved for further study as I made my way through God’s wonderful word. I have set out to put together a study of the Bible, verse by verse, chapter by chapter, book by book and I set out with this in mind when I began my studies 5 years ago.
This has been my mindset for a long time and I felt that this was my true purpose from God, that this was my ministry so to speak. While it might be true, I don’t think that it is the sum and whole of my calling from God. I have always felt that He has called me to teach His word. I have always felt that this is true because this desire seems to burn down to my bones. I honestly don’t want to do much else but understand God through His word.
I had a hunger for the word and I wanted to take in everything that I could hear and read about the Bible.
I have listened to many good teachers, sat through many good Bible surveys ( I am in one right now – a very good one and I will give you the link if you like) and outlined many, many good sermons throughout these years. I have accumulated many tall stacks of studies that I have taken from others and extenede with my own studies. God has created a very good foundation for me. A strong sturdy foundation, built solidly on the doctrine of His word.
I have also tried out many different denominations in these few years. I came out of the church of Christ. I have gone from Southern Baptist to Calvary Chapel, Methodist to Bapti-costal to Non denominational. I even tried a home fellowship but it fell apart when we tried to make a church out of it.

The new revelation and the great big problem

Now here is the problem. You would think that spending all this time buried in the Bible would keep me completely and totally satisfied, after all I am doing what I love, right – but it didn’t, I slowly began to feel that I was further away from the Lord than when I started. I began to become unsatisfied in every aspect of my life. Work, church, family life – nothing seemed to satisfy me. I prayed less and less and for the most part – almost stopped reading completely. Well this friday afternoon, I took most of my piles of studies and future studies and chunked them all into the trash bin. I have begun to realize that what I am doing or trying to do is wrong!
It is wonderful to read and study the word of God, but if I put that study before God, then it is wrong and that is what I have been up to. It has not been a total loss though, I have learned much truth and I have come closer to the Lord through the whole ordeal.
I have learned that it is all about Jesus Christ. It is my coming closed to Him. It is my studying the Word looking for Him. It is my praying to Him. Giving my all, my family, my work, my studies to Him!
That is when things began to change. I am not completely there but I am better off now then I was. I am making a step closer to Him!
When I focus on Christ – it is then that all things come together!!
So what do you think? Are you where I am or further along with Christ?

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

