The Great I AM

In Exodus 3 God speaks to Moses through the burning bush. Moses had been gung ho and ready to be use by God 40 years earlier but now he had been humbled to the point of seeing himself of no use to anyone. We see a back and forth between himself and God with questions like “Who am I?” Why can’t you send someone else?” “They won’t believe me!” but one question stands out above the rest. “Who are You?” or better yet, “Who can I tell the people You are?” God tells Moses “Tell them I AM has sent you!” God was giving Moses His calling card. This was not a new revelation of His Name or Himself but a reminder. God was giving them a name that they would recognize and remember “Yahweh” of “Jehovah” – LORDJesus in the book of John uses the same name in reference to Himself in the seven “I AM” statements. He calls their attention to the fact that He was there with their fathers.I AM the True VineI Am The Way, The Truth, & The LifeI Am The Resurrection & The LifeI Am The Good ShepardI Am The DoorI Am The Light Of The WorldI Am The Bread of LifeHe is telling the world “I AM” the answer to your troubles. I AM the answer to your deepest needs. He also tells them “Before Abraham was, I AM!” this brings us back to Exodus. Jesus is leaving no mistake as to His words. “I AM YAHWEH! I AM JEHOVAH! I AM LORD!This name “I AM” this title “Yahweh, Jehovah, Lord”  gives us the idea that the Lord “IS” that He never began to exist, He does not need anything to exist because life is in Himself, and that He will always exist. He was – He is – and He will always be!!! He was the Jehovah of the Old Testament – He is the Lord of the present – He is the King to come!!!!!

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

