Thought for today – A ministry of John Palatucci

Tuesday 6/24
Thought for today
 
“Beloved, do not imitate what is evil, but what is good. He who does good is of God, but he who does evil has not seen God,” (3 John 11.)
There is a definite prohibition here, “do not imitate what is evil.” God’s Word conveys to us promises of great blessing, warnings of great danger, admonitions, accusations, examples, commands and principles. Also, look for prohibitions, statements where God tells us not to do something. A divine prohibition is not designed to punish, rather to keep us from destructive behavior. Prohibitions from God are for our good. Some are very specific. Do not lie, do not commit adultery, do not steal. Other prohibitions are general in nature, like this one, “do not imitate what is evil.”
Think about it. If I take this prohibition personally, I will need to learn the difference between good and evil, so I can choose the former and reject the latter, but on my own, I will self destruct. This learning requires Bible reading and study. And, it demands that I keep my head clear and my eyes open to temptations. Taking this prohibition seriously means that I will, in the hurried, frenzied routine of life, maintain enough spiritual presence of mind to resist the devil consistently. John tells us plainly, “do not imitate what is evil.” Prohibition is not bad for us when it comes from our Creator.
 
Blessings in Christ
“Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ”. Galatians 1:3
About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

