Our Chief Cornerstone

Acts 4:8-12

God has placed examples of His relationship to us all around us. In the Bible, in marriage, in the roles of the family, and especially in nature (Romans 1:18-20) so that there is no excuse for not acknowledging God in our everyday existence. Corners are one example of how He relates everything to Himself. Corners are everywhere and you can’t build a house or any building without corners. It could even be argued that one could find corners in a circle. I am not much of a handyman but a year or so ago I decided to use some extra wood that I had lying around the yard to build some small decorative fences to put in front of the house. They were just for decorations, so I didn’t cement them into the ground. I just dug a few holes and put the fence posts down into the holes so the fences would stand. They actually stood up, much to my (as well as my wife’s) surprise. The only problem was the fact that they would lean a little when the wind would blow, so I decided to use some of the scrap wood to make some corners so the fences would have more to hold them up. I was even more surprised (and so was my wife) to find out that the fences were as strong as they would be when I used concrete on them. Just adding those small corners made all the difference in the world. That was an option that I had when I put those fences together but there isn’t one when it comes to a house. A house without corners could never be built. Ephesians 2:19-21 tells us that Jesus is our chief cornerstone. He is our rock, and our foundation

(1Corithians 3:11). Nothing could be built in our lives without Him. Without Him we are lost. Come to Him today and start working on your house. Like the old hymn says that without Jesus “All other ground is sinking sand.”

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

