Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

Thought for today

“Do not sorrow, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”  (Nehemiah 8:10) The joy of the Lord gives us wings to rise above our circumstances. It fortifies us in times of trial and persecution. Joy is the secret up the Christian’s sleeve. All hell might break loose around us, but the Christian still has reason to rejoice. They have heaven in their heart. Hebrews 12 tells us Jesus endured the cross, and despised the shame, for the joy set before Him. Joy was His strength. The shortest verse in the English Bible is John 10:35, “Jesus wept.” But the shortest verse in the Greek Bible is 1 Thessalonians 5:16, “Rejoice evermore.” Jesus experienced sorrow for a season so you and I could rejoice forever. CS Lewis once said, “Joy is the serious business of heaven.” It takes 72 muscles to frown, but only 14 to smile. It takes a lot less effort to smile than it does to frown. God wants us to rejoice, to take joy in Jesus. The joy of the Lord is our strength. Amen?

Lord God, thank You for joy in the morning and in the night as well. Thank You for even joy through the teardrops. Though the world and all in it are crumbling around me, I will keep joy in my heart, for You are my strength and my hope. Help me to use the 14 muscles in my face to smile instead of the 72 to frown. Thank You for loving me so much, that You allowed Your precious Son to go to the death for sinful me, and it is in His name I pray,

Blessings in Him

 

“Now to Him that is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we
ask or imagine, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory
forever and ever. AMEN”  Ephesians 3:20
About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

