Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today (sorry for getting longwinded here)

 

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (Ephesians 2:10) We are God’s workmanship, His artwork, His canvas. You may say, “yeah right, I don’t see anything artsy about me. He must have got angry at the canvas when He started working on me”. Our God has promised that He will perfect us until the day of Jesus Christ. And He will do what He says. He will not give up even on a sorry sinner as I.  Every person reflects someone’s workmanship. Look at children, and you often see the workmanship of their parents. If the father is greedy and grumpy or abusive, if the mother is snippy and critical or loose, then the poor child hardly stands a chance in his or her character development. If either of the parents takes drugs and/or alcohol during pregnancy, we see their workmanship in children who have Attention Deficit Disorder, stunted physical growth, and slow mental development. Look at the workmanship of someone who is an alcoholic or drug addict. After years of self-neglect and self-abuse the person ends up with an inferiority complex, is full of doubt and fears, and is unable to hold down a regular job. In the Book of Ephesians, Paul would have us look at the workmanship of Satan and the workmanship of God. Those who are projects of the devil are self-centered, me-first, messed up by sin. Those who are shaped and completed by God are objects of righteousness created for service. The natural, sinful nature we are born with means we are the workmanship of Satan. “But God” is also pictured as being busy sculpting and carving and cutting and molding, yet for His good purpose. Of all mankind who have been sculpted by Satan, there are many who have been re-shaped by God. Instead of Satan’s workmanship they are now God’s workmanship. God is a master craftsman. He is at work in you and in me making us into magnificent trophies. His purpose is not for us to be put on display. His purpose is not for others to oooh and aaah about His gracious work. Rather, His purpose is for us to be used in His church and for His kingdom. And remember, God don’t make junk!

 

Lord God, thank You for not giving up on me. For shaping me and even re-shaping me into all You would have me be. Forgive me for the times I fuss about the way my life is going, or about the health issues at hand. May my life reflect Your artwork, Your workmanship, not for an “ata boy” or a pat on the back, or to be noticed for my good works, but for Your glory. You have done such an incredible work in me and I do so look forward to the day when I will perfected in Christ Jesus, and it is in His name I pray,

 

Blessings in Him

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

