Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and He will lift you up” (James 4:10)When we forget who we really are before God, we are tempted to be jealous and envious of others. We stop meditating on receiving from God and focus on those around us. We compare our lives with theirs and may even burn with frustration that we don’t have all that they do. But in that process, we have in effect, turned away from our Provider. We are not living by counting on God to be the gracious Giver that He is, we are counting on ourselves to have more than others. When we remember who God is, and live out of our trust in Him, we can always be filled and content. There is a great freedom we can know when we see ourselves and others through God’s eyes. Thank goodness it is He who has the last word. Because He is the one who “gives to all men generously and without reproach.  Of course, as we grow in the security of knowing ourselves as His beloved children, the need to put others down to feel better diminishes. There is a wonderful freedom in the truth James is teaching his readers. We can lay down the burden of having to know everything, having to control everything and everyone. We don’t have to have the final say nor fear others or that a particular circumstance will have the last word. God alone has the first and last word in all things. And the name of that Word is Jesus Christ.

 

Lord God, thank You that You do not hold anything against me because of my sinfulness and foolishness. Forgive me for the times I envy and want, and forgetting about all You have blessed me with, yet wanting more. I do thank You for the roof over my head, the clothes in my closet, the food in my pantry and the gas in my car and more. Thank you for not judging me for what is in my heart, for I would surely be guilty. Help me today, to be all You want me to be, and that everything I do and say and think, would bring glory to You in Jesus name,

 

Have a blessed day

 

 

“In the beginning God………………..” !

 

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

