Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“It happened in the spring of the year, at the time when kings go out to battle…” (2 Samuel 11:1) David decides to sit this campaign out. He goes on spring break. But it’s during his down time that an event takes place that almost brings down his kingdom. He spots a beautiful babe bathing in the buff. Bathsheba. David thinks, “why is she naked in full view of the king’s palace?” If David had been doing what God called him to do, this incident would not have happened. It’s been said, “The devil tempts all men, but idle men tempt the devil.” We all need down time, but only to refresh our upward look. It’s one thing to take a break. It’s another thing to take a break from God, which is what David did. This is why author FB Meyer writes, “Let us beware of our light, unguarded hours. Moments of leisure are more to be dreaded than those of strenuous toil.” Eternal vigilance is the price of freedom. We might take a vacation, but Satan never does. We need to keep our guard up at all times, and in all situations. We need to say “NO”. We need to turn away from the lusts of the eyes. We need to avoid the beautiful babe (or guy) bathing in the buff. If we keep our eyes on the things of God, they won’t wander or wonder off to the things of the enemy.

 

Lord God, thank You for Your grace and mercy that are new everyday. Thank You lifting me up out of the muck and mire of sin, washing me off with the blood of Your Son, and setting me on a high place. Help me today, to turn away from any evil thing that may possibly draw me away from You. Help me to keep my eyes and heart focused on all that is good in Your sight and to You alone be the glory, in Jesus wonderful name,

 

Blessings

 

“In the beginning God………………..” !

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

