Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“So we say with confidence. The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?” (Hebrews 13:6) I used to really enjoy taking trips by car, and like most men, anytime I made a wrong turn, I would try to fluff my way around the truth which was, “I made a wrong choice”. And after driving for many miles, realizing that I had taken the wrong road, thinking that I had chosen a shortcut. It wasn’t easy to say, “oops, I made a mistake”. Then finally, I would ask for directions at the next stop. For some reason or other, men just do not want to admit that we need direction in our choices. The prodigal son made some bad choices, but he came home, admitting that he was wrong. His father forgave him and restored him. What should we do, when we make bad choices? Well, the first thing to do is to admit that we were wrong. Remember Jim Baker? Most of us remember his television program. He made some bad choices that ended in a jail sentence and a divorce. I never was a fan of Jim Baker anyway. He wrote a book entitled, “I Was Wrong”. I still don’t know much about him, but I admire anyone who can say, “I was wrong.” The prodigal son admitted that he made bad choices. The father accepted him and changed his circumstances. That’s what God, our heavenly Father, does for us. When we make bad choices, we must be willing to admit (confess) and change the direction of our lives. The Bible calls it repentance. It is a change of mind and direction. God has a map for our lives. It’s called the Bible. It gives good, clear direction for all the choices we make. When we make bad choices, we need to find someone who can help us. The prodigal went back to his father. There he found all the help that he needed. Our God is always willing to help us. We have a wonderful promise in the Bible concerning his help, “so we say with confidence, the Lord is my Helper…..”.

Lord God, thank You for always being there when I need help and direction in my life. Help me to not be so prideful when I need help, but to ask the One who knows all things and is able to change any circumstances. Forgive me for my bad choices and give me the strength and wisdom to seek and ask for Your help. Be glorified today, in Jesus name,

 

Blessings in Christ

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

