Prayer – The Priority of Prayer

The priority of prayer

Prayer is the most important ministry of a believer


1Timothy 1:18-2:8

18 This charge I commit to you, son Timothy, according to the prophecies previously made concerning you, that by them you may wage the good warfare, 19 having faith and a good conscience, which some having rejected, concerning the faith have suffered shipwreck, 20 of whom are Hymenaeus and Alexander, whom I delivered to Satan that they may learn not to blaspheme.

1 Timothy 2

Pray for All Men

 1 Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, 2 for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. 3 For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, 4 who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. 5 For there is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the Man Christ Jesus, 6 who gave Himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time, 7 for which I was appointed a preacher and an apostle—I am speaking the truth in Christ[a]and not lying—a teacher of the Gentiles in faith and truth.    
8 I desire therefore that the men pray everywhere, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting;

 
Do we find prayer boring and routine?
Do we loose the excitement of prayer altogether
We loose what God meant for it to be in our lives because we bog it down with repetition
and phrases trying to sound good to ourselves and/or others when all God wants from us is to talk to Him about our problems and about others

 

 Ephesians 6:18

18 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints—


1Thessalonians 5:11

11 Therefore comfort each other and edify one another, just as you also are doing.


1) Prayer must be first in the Church
Acts 6:1-4

Acts 6

Seven Chosen to Serve

 1 Now in those days, when the number of the disciples was multiplying, there arose a complaint against the Hebrews by the Hellenists, because their widows were neglected in the daily distribution. 2 Then the twelve summoned the multitude of the disciples and said, “It is not desirable that we should leave the word of God and serve tables. 3 Therefore, brethren, seek out from among you seven men of good reputation, full of the Holy Spirit and wisdom, whom we may appoint over this business; 4 but we will give ourselves continually to prayer and to the ministry of the word.”


The Disciples knew what they needed to be doing. They needed to be in the word and in prayer 


Acts 2:42

42 And they continued steadfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in prayers.

 

Here we see a glimpse of the newly birthed church. They started out in prayer – not later when trouble came but right there at the beginning


2) Prayer must be first in the day
Psalm 63

A Psalm of David when he was in the wilderness of Judah.

 1 O God, You are my God;
         Early will I seek You;
         My soul thirsts for You;
         My flesh longs for You
         In a dry and thirsty land
         Where there is no water.
 2 So I have looked for You in the sanctuary,
         To see Your power and Your glory.
         
 3 Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
         My lips shall praise You.
 4 Thus I will bless You while I live;
         I will lift up my hands in Your name.
 5 My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness,
         And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.
         
 6 When I remember You on my bed,
         I meditate on You in the night watches.
 7 Because You have been my help,
         Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.
 8 My soul follows close behind You;
         Your right hand upholds me.
         
 9 But those who seek my life, to destroy it,
         Shall go into the lower parts of the earth.
 10 They shall fall by the sword;
         They shall be a portion for jackals.
         
 11 But the king shall rejoice in God;
         Everyone who swears by Him shall glory;
         But the mouth of those who speak lies shall be stopped.


When we have sinned against God we need to come back to Him early and repent.
The first thing we do each day is to wake up conscious of and in the presence of God. Prayer can also keep us in His presence throughout the day. That way we won’t have anything taking us by surprise and we have peace in the process
We should live in a constant atmosphere of prayer

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

