Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today


“Your People Shall Be My People, And Your God, My God” (Ruth 1:16)  Ruth and Naomi displayed the characteristics of love, generosity, chastity, and the desire to worship the God of Israel. Both women were blessed by God. If we were to sum up the meaning and value of the book of Ruth, it would be that it shows us a wonderful example of righteous loyalty to a friend even in adverse circumstances. Later, in the New Testament, we would find that brothers and sisters in Christ are to have these same characteristics toward one another and toward God. God also expects us to care for family members. Men and women of faith have and understand these kinds of loyalties and need to live by them as well.

God expects us to have concern and love for others. The book of Ruth shows us God has always highly valued selflessness, compassion and generosity, even in times where there was little of those characteristics to be found on the earth (and so it is these days as well). Ruth’s unselfishness had been rewarded by God, and so shall ours be. Those pleasing in the sight of God are always a source of blessing to others. Ruth was dedicated as she followed Naomi. It is this kind of loyalty that will make one a good follower of Jesus. It is a loyalty that will assume any risks, accept whatever losses are called for, and steadfastly follow on. We are to be industrious and provide for our own needs. But we are also to share our blessings with others. Though they lived over a thousand years before Christ comes and establishes His church, the account of Naomi and Ruth again provides solid good examples of living by faith and demonstrating so many of the qualities that it would one day take to become good Christians.

 

Lord God, thank You for the examples given in this wonderful Book of Ruth. Thank You for the friends You have placed in my life. Help me to always put others needs before my own, and to bless others with all You have blessed me with. All I have is Yours anyway, I own nothing. Help me today to be more of a loyal follower of Jesus and an example of His selflessness to those that cross my path. This is my prayer in the wonderful name of Jesus, Yeshua HaMashiach, amen.

 

Blessings in Christ

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

