Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning, (just about headed to the hospital, should be uncomplicated and easy surgery, and home quickly) Pray!

 

Thought for today

 

“Could you not watch with Me one hour? Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (Matthew 26:40) What an honor for Peter, James, and John to be present at this moment. I can’t think of a holier occasion in the history of humanity. Don’t you know the disciples are praying fervently, supporting Jesus in His struggle.  Not hardly.  They’re sound asleep, sawing logs,  cutting z’s,  snoozing the night away. Jesus has to wake them up. He asks in verse 40, “What? Could you not watch with Me one hour? Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Spiritually, we are transformed. I’m a new man, but I’m dressed in a corrupt body,  that sure lets me down at times. We have all been guilty of starting out in prayer and ending up asleep. I’m weak when I ought to be strong. I’m hyper-active when I need to slow down and wait. The flesh is a constant struggle. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak. Peter learns a lesson on trusting in God’s strength, not his own. Vance Havner use to say, “The Lord had the strength and I had the weakness, so we teamed up! It was an unbeatable combination.” Go it alone and you, too, will weep bitterly.

 

Lord God, thank You for each and every opportunity You give me to spend time at Your feet in prayer and fellowship, worshipping You for all You are in me. And what do I do?, I doze off. Forgive me for these times Lord, yes my spirit is willing but the flesh is so weak. Fill me with Your strength so that I may be strong in my weakness. I give You my concerns today, and to You alone be the glory for all the good in my life, in Jesus precious name,

 

Blessings

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles

 

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

