Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“‘…….Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.’ ‘Yes’, says the Spirit, ‘that they may rest from their labors, and their works follow them.’ ” (Revelation 14:13) I once overheard a little boy say, “Well if I can’t have any rest, I might as well give up on life.” Those words were obviously stated in exaggeration. However, they serve as a good example of man looking for ease and comfort. In the days of the prophet Amos, God condemned the Jews for their ease and comfort. In their luxury, they reclined in beds inlaid with ivory, banqueted on fatted claves, and were soothed by lascivious songs. They were much like modern America, rich and fat, yet God is far from their thoughts. John’s says that some have no rest (vs.11), but some will rest from their labors, describing the future destiny of the wicked. Here John says they have no rest night and day suggesting a condition that continually exists. These will never enjoy the luxury of sleep or rest, but only eternal sorrow. Those who rest from their labors are those who persevere in the “patience of the Lord”. They are those who remain steadfast in trials and steadfast in the Lord’s work. By exercising patience during continued trials and keeping God’s commands, we will show that we belong to the Lord. “Labor” literally means wailing or grief or a beating of the breast. It denotes toil and effort in promoting the cause of Christ and the saving of souls. From such toil one day the saints will be released. They will enjoy an eternal rest.  So, my brothers and sisters, persevere and press on, rest is coming. Praise be to God!

 

Lord God, thank You for the encouragement in the Book of Revelation. Thank You that I am part of that rest so described. Yet, to many, there is no encouragement at all, for they will labor for eternity because of sin. I do so pray for these lost and dying souls, that You will use the seeds that have been planted through the years, and that no one will leave this earth without Jesus leading them home. I pray for me family, friends, co-workers and even those I find it so hard to pray for. Use me today, for Your glory, in Jesus name,

 

Numbers 6:24:26 to all.

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

 

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

