Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“For if while we were sinners, we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life”. (Romans 5:10).

I do not like it when the guilty get away with something; when the governor pardons someone a jury has convicted of a crime, not because the person was found to be innocent but rather because he just did not agree with the sentence. So here we have a felon on death row who deserves to die. There does not seem to be a whole lot wrong with that. Everything is pretty much as it should be. But, the judge has a tender spot for the felon. You see, the felon is also the judge’s son. The son bears a distinct family resemblance, and though his crimes have caused the judge great sorrow, the judge still loves his son. So, the judge devises a rather complicated plan whereby the son (we)can live. He allows someone else, one who is not guilty(Jesus), to step in and pay the penalty for the guilty, and then declares to the guilty, “You’re free to go. We were lost in our sins, following the law of the flesh and in danger of death eternally. We, through whatever means, found Christ, or perhaps Christ found us. If God is judge (and He is), and we are not to be condemned, we are no longer guilty, but alive in Christ.

 

Lord, thank You for not condemning me to death, but have made me alive in and through Jesus Christ. Thank You for loving the sinner but not the sin. I deserved to die and spend eternity in hell, but You so had compassion on me, and made a way for me, a sinner, to spend eternity with You in heaven. Thank You for loving me that much, in Jesus name, amen.

 

Blessings

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Christianity 101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

