Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

Thought for today

“For we all stumble in many ways. If anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to bridle the whole body as well.” (James 3:2) The Tongue (or fingers on the keyboard): Sometimes I feel like I hold the record for “putting your foot in your mouth”! And if ever there was an area of temptation to some Christians, this is it. The record states that ALL stumble with the tongue. It is one of the smallest members of the body and able to heap mountains of destruction. When you place a telephone in the hands of a cantankerous individual, trouble is just around the corner. In a matter of minutes the tongue motivated by an evil heart can absolutely destroy the lives of people. In the words of the biblical author, “Brethren, these things ought not to be” (v. 10). We must think before we speak (this means me). We must be about the business of cleaning the heart of impurities that we have allowed in and filling it with the riches from the inspired record and the attitude indicative of our Lord. The tongue is often used as an instrument for backbiting, tale-bearing, gossip, and malicious slurs against others (oops), even our own brethren. It is the tool of divisive indictment and false accusations. It is the type of exercise that smells of ungodliness and suspect motives. On the other hand, the tongue can be used to the glory of God and the edification of others. It is used to vocally stand in the gap against error and make known the path of truth. It is used for exhortation, convincing, and rebuking. We must be sober to weigh we use this member and see to it that we use it in the best interest of others (oops) and the cause of Christ that we might be “found unto praise, honor, and glory at the appearing of the Lord”.

Lord God, help this tongue of mine to build up and not tear down. Cause me to use it for Your glory and honor and praise. Let no unwholesome thing come roll off my lips, yet that all in my heart is Christ crucified. Let my words be few if I have nothing good to say. Bless this day and be glorified in it, in Jesus name, amen.

Blessings

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

