Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, and to present your faultless before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy, to God our Savior, who alone is wise, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and forever, Amen.” (Jude 24,25) For me, there is the possibility of stumbling (as we all know). I may nourish a thought that is destructive. I may say something to someone in haste or anger. I may be tempted, and fall into sin in the use of my body.  I live with this awareness, this possibility of stumbling, and for someone to say, “this could never happen to me”, is in all actually, calling God a liar and setting themselves for real trouble. Years ago when pedestrian traffic was common, at busy intersections, traffic engineers would build what was called a Safety Zone. As you were walking across the intersection, if you had to stop to let oncoming traffic pass, there was this little area you could occupy called the Safety Zone. These zones would sometimes be built inside of heavy steel barricades or bars. The theory was, as long as you stayed in the safety zone, you would not be hit by the passing vehicles (in theory). In order to enjoy that safety, you had to stay in this zone.  In Christ, God has provided something like a safety zone. As long as we stay where we ought to be, maintaining the activity of our faith, growing; repenting of sin, walking in the light. As long as we stay where we ought to be in this place God, in His grace, has provided, we are kept by the power of God. But we must keep the faith; we must keep ourselves where we ought to be.

 

Lord God, thank You for the promise that You alone are able to keep me from stumbling, yet, there will always be the possibility when I am in my weakness. Thank You for the “Safety Zone”, that being Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior. Though I may stumble, may I never cause anyone else to stumble on account of my bumblings and rumblings. Thank You for always forgiving my short comings and sin, and to You alone be the glory, in Jesus name,

 

Blessings in Christ

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

