Genesis Chapter 1: God – The “Who” of Creation – The Revelation of God through His Son Part 9

A trustful word
Luke 23:46
“Father, into Your hands I commit My Spirit”
Psalm 31:5


1) This is a prayer
This is a bedtime prayer like the one we teach our children (“Now I lay me down to sleep”)
This is a prayer of trust from a righteous servant to an Almighty God
Stephen gave this prayer in Acts (Acts 7:59-60)
Jesus began by praying on the cross (“Father, forgive them”) and He ended His time by praying

He had been prepared for this hour
Luke 9:28-36
The transfiguration on the mountain
Moses and Elijah were their to strengthen Jesus for His death
Decease literally means exodus (9:31)
This allusion to the central Old Testament event of salvation is unique
The comparison is made between Jesus’ death and the journey to salvation that the nation of
Israel experienced under Moses
Jesus journey would take Him to the side of God, from which He would return to exercise authority
(9:35) Moses and Elijah were present to represent the Old Testament
Representing the law (Moses) and the prophets (Elijah)
Their presence indicated that the Old Testament scriptures were looking forward to the Messiah
and His Kingdom
The reference to the Beloved Son is from Psalms 2:7, Isaiah 42:1-4
The commandment to hear Him (Deuteronomy 18:15-18)
This identifies that Jesus is the prophet promised in that passage
Jesus, as the new prophet would lead a new group of people to salvation as Moses lead Israel


The Church
Matthew 21:43


Israel
Romans 11:1-36
1 Peter 2:9-10


2) The indication of fullness
From the heart of Jesus
“My God, My God” has faded into silence giving way for this simple childlike prayer “Father”
Jesus taught the Father concept of our relationship to God
He was the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world and He had accomplished His goal
He had finished everything He had been sent by God to do
Hebrews 9:11-28


3) The restoration of fellowship
Toward the Hand of God
Sin had been placed upon Jesus for all the world
God had exercised His wrath on Jesus for us
“My God, My God”- The feeling of being forsaken had ended with fellowship
“Into Thy Hands”
Jesus emphasizes the Hands of God in contrast to the hands of man
What did the hands of man do to Jesus?

Matthew 17:22-23
Mark 14:41
Luke 20:19
John 19:30
Acts 2:22-23
Jesus is saying “Father, what a joy, what a relief to commit My Spirit into Your Hands”


Jesus is our example
To present our bodies to God a living sacrifice
Romans 12:1-2
“I commit My Spirit”
For the hope of the future
Commit our lives into the Hand of God
My soul (salvation)
My family
My business
My talents
“I commit My Spirit”


Commit or commend
A) To place


I commit (place) My Spirit
Luke 10:8 (Set before you)
The verb here is used to describe the idea of placing food at the table
To place on or near
Hebrews 8:1
Jesus seated (placed) at the right Hand of God

B) To prove


I commit (prove) My Spirit
like filling a report
Used to describe the situation when a slave would give a report to his master
to give validity to a report
to authenticate the report
He died for us He proved and gave validity for us


C) To preserve


I commit (preserve) My Spirit
Used to describe the situation when someone takes money to a bank for safe keeping
To keep it there so one could return later and retrieve
it

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

