Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Beloved, do not imitate what is evil, but what is good. He who does good is of God, but he who does evil has not seen God,” 3 John 11. There is a definite prohibition here: “do not imitate what is evil.” God’s Word conveys to us, promises of great blessing, warnings of great danger, admonitions, accusations, examples, commands and principles. A divine prohibition is not designed to punish, rather to keep us from destructive behavior. Prohibitions from God are for our good. Some are very specific: Do not lie, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not cheat, covet. One other prohibition, “do not imitate what is evil.” Think about what this implies. If I take this prohibition personally, I will need to learn the difference between good and evil, so I can choose the former and reject the latter. This learning requires Bible reading and study. And, it demands that I keep my head clear and my eyes open to temptations. Taking this prohibition seriously means that I will, in the hurried, frenzied routine of life, maintain enough spiritual presence of mind to resist the devil consistently. John tells us plainly, “do not imitate what is evil.” As Christians, we are under obligation to be careful what model we imitate. As Christians, we have accepted the duty to act under the influence of good role models, not evil. When I respond to God, by imitating what He defines as good and shunning all evil, I show my connection with God. I give behavioral evidence that I am connected with Him, in fellowship with Him. If you want to be connected with God, get busy listening to Him and letting Him teach you what is good and evil. Then imitate the good and shun the evil. In this conduct you will show you are “of God.” We are creatures of choice and subject to imitation. Right now, our choices and our imitation, lies in either good or evil. By choosing God, by imitating good and rejecting evil, we show our attachment to God, our kinship with His Son and our hope of inheriting all the promises involved.

 

 

Lord, thank You for this beautiful day You have blessed me with. Even though with some here, the day may seem very bleak, and not having to do with the weather. Bless my friends here and in such a special way that You alone would receive all the glory and honor that is Yours. You have placed each one in my life to encourage me, to bless me, and even to hold me accountable for my dumb actions. Cause me to be an imitator of Jesus and not of evil. In Jesus name, amen!

 

Bless someone today

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

