Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness! Thou hast relieved me in  my distress; Be gracious to me and hear my prayer.” (Psalm 4:1) Verse 1 is a great mixture of two thoughts, the request for God to answer prayers and acknowledgement that God has answers them. But people do not consider these things, they long for the vain things of this earth. They could have the blessings of and confidence in God, but they take the passing pleasures of sin, the vanity of physical possessions, and the fleeting fame in the approval of others. The real progress that one makes in life is made in God. The righteous has built his house on the foundation of the Lord. When David went to bed he was not troubled by any of their hubbub. He went to sleep in quietness of heart. In the previous psalm we might have wondered how David was able to start the day with such a refreshed mind in light of all that surrounded Him. Here is the answer, he slept well the night before in the peace that only faith in God can bring. Be quieted in heart for God rules all. He is approachable in prayer. He has delivered us many times in the past. And the peace of God is upon His people. As Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives, do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” (Jn. 14:27)

 

Lord God, thank You the gift of prayer and for the promise that You always hear and always answer. Not always as I would like our prayers to be answered, but in Your perfect time and timing. Help me to keep my focus today, to keep You first and family next, then friends and neighbors, and last of all, my worldly desires. Cause me to rest in You tonight, and to trust that You are in control of every situation. Thank You for Your peace. Be glorified now, in Jesus name, amen!

 

Blessings in Christ

 

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

