Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

2 Peter 1:4 says of Jesus, “by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises…” Have you noticed that the word “precious” is a favorite word of Peter’s when it comes to referring to the things of God? Peter speaks of our “precious faith”, “precious promises”, “the precious blood of Jesus”, “the precious cornerstone.” The blessings of God were Peter’s treasure. And he says that through these precious promises we become “partakers of the divine nature”. When came to Jesus, God implanted in you and in I, His nature. His Spirit writes His Law on our heart. His desires are downloaded into our nature. God installs Righteousness 7.7 and Love XP on our spiritual hard drive. This enables us to “escape the corruption that is in the world through lust.” The evils and wickedness and violence of society are a direct result of lust. The craving

for what we don’t have fuels our greed, and drives us to nibble at sin. We escape the clutches of lustful living when we’re filled with God’s joy and peace. Therefore remember, the “precious promises of God”, are ours to keep. People make promises with a forked tongue, as we did with the Indians, and then do a round-about. God makes promises, and they are for eternity.

 

Thank You Lord, for Your many precious promises. Promises not like those of man, but promises that will be mine through eternity. Take my greed, my lusts, my covetousness, and all my worldly desires, and burn them up. I want to be more and more like Jesus in every way, but I just cannot do it on my own, I need the Holy Spirit to empower me, burn off the dross and renew in me a clean and faithful heart. In all this, to You be the glory, in Jesus name, amen!

 

 

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

