Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought you to be in all holy conversation and godliness, Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God,….” (2 Peter 3:11)  Imagine being  informed that your house was scheduled for demolition to make way for a new road in one week. Before another day was passed, would you paint those walls that you thought needed repainting? Would you patch that spot in the basement, or install a new kitchen floor?  If we were convinced that it was correct, it would certainly change the way that we would look at our home, or anything else we have. After Peter spoke of the final end of earth and all it contains, pointing out that it was to be “burned up” (2 Pet. 3:7-10)  Peter suggests that this has some application to the way we live our lives today. It tends to place many things into a more accurate perspective than what we are used to. What Peter has contributed to our way of seeing things is what someone has called the “long view.” Having read and understood this, and being capable of seeing beyond the next hill, we should consider the order of our lives. This realization should make of us less materialistic people. If we recognize that all earthly things are someday going to be stripped away, then material possessions will matter far less to us now. It will make of us more generous people, for we know that God has given us what we have, and we must make the best use we can of what we have until that day when our things will be burned up. We will understand that what we have accumulated, or have accomplished, is really very little compared with the larger scheme of things, and it is all going to be dust in the wind in the end.

 

Lord, thank You for all You have blessed me with, so much more than I could ever imagine, yet one day it will all be gone. Cause me to look at things as just things, and nothing more. Prompt me to bless others while I can and to give You the glory. Oh how I pray for those whose lives are so tied up with material things that they cannot see beyond what they have, believing that it is all theirs, because they strived for it. May we all just look to the coming of Your Son, and to the day when we will all be together in heaven with Jesus, and it is in His name I pray, amen!

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

