Genesis Chapter 2:15-3:1-24 – The Corruption of All Things Part 6

Genesis 3:9

Where are you?

 

Adam and Eve had eaten the fruit on the tree of knowledge of good and evil and now something had happened. Something was now different between God and man. Adam and Eve knew they were naked and they became embarrassed when they heard God in the garden. So God asks them this question. He didn’t need to know what they had done. He didn’t need to know where they were but man did. Adam needed to know what he had done and he needed to realize it. Sometimes we are oblivious to something that we are doing or have done while we are in the very act of doing it and sometimes we need to speak it, to talk about it to realize what we have been doing. To realize what we have done. This even goes with sin in our lives. Adam needed to know that he had sinned. He needed to know that he had broken fellowship with God and that this fellowship was lost. Now man was in a fallen and sinful state. Of course Adam did realize what he had done and instead of taking the blame he reacted in a way that we all do from time to time. He played the blame game. He told God that it was God’s fault because He had given him the woman.

Am I that way?

Are you?

Do we blame everyone else instead of ourselves. We are told to confess our sins and He will forgive us. He won’t beat us over the head with them. He won’t bring them up again later when we are in a good mood. He won’t dwell on them. (One of the greatest things about the way Jesus dealt with people was that He didn’t dwell on their sins, He dealt with their sins but He didn’t dwell on them)

We need to come to the Lord with a right heart. A heart that is not interested in blaming others. A heart ready to confess and repent and receive renewed fellowship with Him.

So where was Adam?

 

Was he too busy working? 

Where was Adam?

Where was he when Eve was tempted by the serpent?

Was he too busy working?

We all need to work but sometimes we take it to the extreme. I know I did. Many times men feel that work defines them and while an honest days work is good for man, it should not take all his time and energy. I worked alot for a long time. I felt that it was my duty to work and that I had to be at work because things would not get done right without me. I spent long days and some weekends working, thinking that I was helping my family out by making so much money, yet all the while I was actually cutting myself off from my family. I was staying away so I didn’t have to bother with them. I put work before them every time. No question. That does not happen now. I work every day of the week, I do the best I can and I work as though I am working for the Lord but I don’t bring it home and I put my family before work.

 

What did Adam teach at home?

Did he teach what God said or what he thought God should have said?

Eve added to God’s Word when she had dialogue with the serpent. She added “Do not touch it (the tree) lest you die!”

Where did she get her information? Did she decide this or was she taught by Adam?

Of course we don’t really know but it can help us realize just how much responsibility men and women have in teaching in the home.

If this originated from Adam then she never had a chance. The serpent was able to use this to trick her. You see this is what happens when we try to add legalism to God’s Word. We start out with the right idea. We say “Well God says that women should wear dresses and so I will make it so that all women can wear in church is dresses and if they wear a dress suit or pants, well I will kick them out.”

Or the same with makeup, or music, or men having to speak in wear certain things or pass certain strange tests before being able to teach or preach. The list could go on and on. The problem is that when we put restrictions on ourselves outside of God’s Word. When we want to add to God’s Word to make things even better, we set ourselves up fot trouble because we or others will eventually revolt against whatever has been set up to supposedly help us out.

 

Where was Adam?

Where am I?

Where are you?

Am I teaching my family what God says or what I think He should have said.

How do you teach your children the Bible?

We are told to teach our children at all times about His Word and I don’t always live up to that. Things get in the way or I let my own problems and worries take me away from this responsibility. Remember men and women. That husband or that wife, those children are a gift from God and He has given them to us because He trusts us enough to let us borrow them to love and cherish. But we are also responsible for them.

 Let them learn just how good and gracious the Lord is in our lives.

 

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

