Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“These things I have spoken unto you, that in me you might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation, but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)  Jesus warned his disciples that they would have tribulation in this world. He didn’t promise them, nor does he promise us, “flowery beds of ease.” To the contrary, he told them of tribulation in this world. The Greek for tribulation means to squeeze or bring pressure upon. In this world, the believer will experience the pressures of life. Nevertheless, the Lord is with us through all the pressures of life. Jesus mentioned three ways God is with us through the pressures of life. First of all, we may rest assured that the Father is with us as believers in Christ. Jesus says to every believer, “I am with you always,” Matthew 28:20. Second, the word of the Lord speaks to us through the pressures of life that we may have peace. There is great comfort for the believer in Scripture. Third, Jesus said, “I have overcome the world.” In Christ we find our victory over every pressure in this world. This is the victory that overcomes the world, even when our faith is weak. Faith does not eliminate pressure, it sustains us through the pressures of life. It is a faith in God, His Son, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. Have you ever asked, “Why are all these bad things happening to me? What did I do wrong to cause all of this?” Thing is, bad things happen to most everyone sooner or later. The difference for us is that we have a heavenly Father who never leaves us. He is with us in the good times and the bad. We can trust Him at all times. His peace will guard our minds and hearts through Christ. We often want prayer that will dismiss all of the pressures of life. God has something better for us. He gives us faith and peace to overcome the world.

Father, thank you for your faithfulness to us through all the pressures of life. I receive your faith and peace to overcome the pressures of the world through Jesus Christ my Lord. It is in His name I pray, amen!

 

Have an awesome day

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

