Thought or Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

Psalm 23 is “the Shepherd’s Song” “The LORD is my Shepherd; I shall not want.” A little boy quoted, “The Lord is my shepherd, I’ve got all I want.” Both work. And we should feel the same way. The Psalm is divided into 3 parts,  the Shepherd provides (verses 1-3), the Shepherd protects (verse 4), and the Shepherd promotes the flock (verses 5-6). Think of it this way, our grazing, our groping, and our glory. Verse 2, “He makes me to lie down…” Only a contented sheep will lie down. Verse 3, “He leads me in the paths of righteousness…” The shepherd never drives the sheep. He wins their confidence, and they desire to follow him. An Israeli tour guide use to point this fact out to his groups, until one day he saw a man driving his sheep. He asked, “I didn’t think a shepherd ever drove his flock, but lead them?” The man answered, “You’re right, but I’m not a shepherd. I’m a butcher.” Satan is the butcher who drives, forces, and beats the sheep. And when the footing gets dangerous, and the flock passes through “the valley of the shadow of death”, the Shepherd is right there to protect His flock. He leads them all the way to glory, exalts them over their enemies, fills their cup to overflowing, and they live forever in the house of the Lord. What a deal. Verse 6 sums it up, “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life…” Did you hear about the husband and wife that had 3 children? They thought to name them “Surely”, “Goodness”, and “Mercy”… but the parents worried they would follow them all the days of their lives. Now in contrast to this, our Lord, WANTS us to follow Him all the days of our lives.

 

Lord God, thank You that You are truly my Shepherd, my Protector and my Provider. Thank You for the times You make me lie down when wanting to get my attention when I need to just rest. Thank You also that my cup is neither half full nor half empty, but overflowing day after day. What more could I ask, but to follow You all the days of my life, amen!

 

Blessings in Christ

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

