Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, and whose hope is the LORD.”(Jeremiah 17:7) Years ago, you would walk into a restaurant, and there would be a sign by the cash register, “In God we trust, all others pay cash.” I got a good chuckle out of those words, nevertheless they are so true. It is dangerous to put all of our trust in people, not trusting in the Lord first and foremost. As a matter of fact, it can bring a curse in our lives to trust in man in the place of God. Thus says the Lord, “Cursed is the man who trusts in man and makes flesh his strength, whose heart departs from the Lord,” (Jeremiah 17:5). To be cursed is to be cut off from the blessings of God. To trust in man in the place of God is idolatry. It always brings the curse. To trust in the Lord is to hope in the Lord. Hope has to do with the future. Our future is in the hands of God. Jeremiah uses a vivid illustration for the man who hopes in the Lord. He is like a tree planted by the waters (Jeremiah. 17:8). He need not be worried about the drought in the future. He has planted his life in the right place for the seasons of life to bring forth much fruit. Trusting in the Lord is an issue of the heart. “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it? I, the Lord, search the heart, I test the mind,” (Jeremiah. 17:9). Unless the Lord changes our hearts, there is no hope. David understood this when he wrote Psalm 51. “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,” Psalm 51:10. A clean heart, created by God, can trust in the Lord.

Lord God, thank You for Your Word and the hope and encouragement it provides. Create in me a clean heart, to trust in You always and in all things. Cause me to never trust in what man has to offer, but in You, the Author and Finisher of my faith. In Jesus name, amen!

 

Blessings abound

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

