Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (2 Timothy 2:15). Name recognition is something sought after and stems from a selfish ambition of wanting a better name than others. Sadly, our society harbors an attitude of selfishness to the point that desiring name recognition replaces owning a good reputation. People are now paying the price for their attitude of selfishness and individual name recognition. The typical American worker works simply because it’s a job, a way to make money, a way to get ahead of everybody else. He doesn’t believe in the product he is helping to make. The result is at or below the average and excessively below the standards. The American gets caught up in demanding a pay raise and goes on strike. He gets so furious with the company that he takes out his frustration in his work. Consequently, results are poor work habits and an utter despising of the work that he does. Then, we as greedy, possession-hungry consumers go quickly into debt to obtain these products to proudly display to our friends. This behavior is no wonder because our selfish dog-eat-selfish dog world demands it. Paul says we need to seek diligently to be approved unto God, to do good work for the Lord. Next, Paul answers why we are to be diligent, “Nevertheless the solid foundation of God stands, having this seal; ‘The Lord knows those who are His, ‘ and, ‘Let everyone who names the name of Christ depart from iniquity.’ . . . therefore if anyone cleanses himself from the latter, he will be a vessel for honor, sanctified and useful for the Master, prepared for every good work.” (2 Timothy 2:19,21). Why are we to do good work? Because we have a name, a name recognized by God above. The child of God has a name already recognized by God and that through proper living before God, we will have a good reputation among our fellow man. If that is not being a success, then what is?

 

Lord God, thank You  for all You have blessed me with, one being my job. Help me to keep good work ethics and to pray for those I work with that they too would have good work ethics and to not  get caught up in name recognition before ethics and good behavior. I do pray for those who are unemployed and in financial hardship, some caused by their own bad habits, and others by the ripple of the economic downfall. Thank You for the name You have given me as Your child in Jesus Christ, and it is in His name I pray, amen!

 

Blessings from our house to yours

 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

