Genesis 9:12-17 – The Noahic Covenant: The sign of the Covenant

The Rainbow

 12And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations:

 13I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.

 14And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

 15And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

 16And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.

 17And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.

 

The sign of this covenant is the rainbow!!!!

The rainbow shows God’s glory

Ezekiel 1

28As the appearance of the bow that is in the cloud in the day of rain, so was the appearance of the brightness round about. This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the LORD. And when I saw it, I fell upon my face, and I heard a voice of one that spake.

Revelation 4

 1After this I looked, and, behold, a door was opened in heaven: and the first voice which I heard was as it were of a trumpet talking with me; which said, Come up hither, and I will shew thee things which must be hereafter.

 2And immediately I was in the spirit: and, behold, a throne was set in heaven, and one sat on the throne.

 3And he that sat was to look upon like a jasper and a sardine stone: and there was a rainbow round about the throne, in sight like unto an emerald.

Revelation 10

 1And I saw another mighty angel come down from heaven, clothed with a cloud: and a rainbow was upon his head, and his face was as it were the sun, and his feet as pillars of fire:

Genesis 8:21-22

Noah was in Christ (Figuratively) in the ark for 40 days and 40 nights through the water.

The water took away what was unclean and God made a covenant with the new nature

The sign of this covenant was the rainbow

Exodus 34:28

Moses and the children of Israel had gone through the Red Sea.

Moses spent 40 days and nights with God on the mountain. He came back with the Ten Commandments or a covenant with Israel

Exodus 20-24:8

The sign was circumcision

Jesus went through the water of baptism. He spent 40 days and nights in the wilderness before being tempted. He came back with the Kingdom manifesto (The Sermon on the Mount) the guide for new Kingdom living or a covenant for Christians

The sign for us is the Holy Spirit

Ephesians 1:13

Because we are washed by the Word of God (Ephesians 5:26)

John 4:10-15, 7:37-39

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

