Genesis 9:20-21, 28-29 – The Shelf of God

 Gen 9:20  And Noah began to be an husbandman, and he planted a vineyard:

Gen 9:21  And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent.

 

Gen 9:28  And Noah lived after the flood three hundred and fifty years.

Gen 9:29  And all the days of Noah were nine hundred and fifty years: and he died.

 

Here we have the first mention of drunkenness in Scripture. Some, as evident from the above, believe that drunkenness is what has beguiled man from the beginning(that the forbidden fruit caused Adam and Eve to become drunk). Others believe that perhaps this was a condition that only came about after the flood and that Noah had no idea as to what would happen to him if he drank too much. Either way it hurt him in more ways than one.

Noah had preached too the people, he had done everything that God told him. He built an ark, for water when there had never been a body of water. He had floated around with his family for more than a year in the first mobile petting zoo. He had built the altar to God and blessed Him and He found grace in the eyes of God

He walked with God, looked too God, and waited on God before and during the storm.

But now everything is over. He isn’t as active as he was. He is not “on call” with God so to speak and he has a leisurely existence.

Everything has become normal, mundane and he becomes vulnerable.

Noah had been a carpenter, a preacher, a farmer, and now he has become a husbandman or literally “A man of the earth,”

We can be the same way.

Be careful that when things get quiet, when things get normal, mundane, that we don’t become too “earthy” or men of the earth. Don’t let the normality of life sneak up on you and you become fleshy and loose what God was doing with you.

We get cocky and we stop praying too God, talking too Him and listening too Him.

We tell Him, “I’ve got it from here on out, I can handle whatever comes my way.”

“Thanks for all the help but I can take it from here.”

And then trouble comes

Sometimes we get trouble just because that is the way things are but there are times when God brings trials and tribulation too us and on us, not for us, not so that we will become better, but for God.

Why???

Sometimes that is the only way that He can get us to talk too Him.

Sometimes that is the only way that He can have a part in our lives.

Sometimes that is the only way we can see what is really going on in our lives.

Mark 4 

36And when they had sent away the multitude, they took him even as he was in the ship. And there were also with him other little ships.

 37And there arose a great storm of wind, and the waves beat into the ship, so that it was now full.

 38And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish?

 39And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.

 40And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith?

 41And they feared exceedingly, and said one to another, What manner of man is this, that even the wind and the sea obey him?

 

Luke 8

 25And he said unto them, Where is your faith? And they being afraid wondered, saying one to another, What manner of man is this! for he commandeth even the winds and water, and they obey him

 

Sometimes He must pass us by in order for us to see His glory

 

Exodus 33

18And he said, I beseech thee, shew me thy glory.

 19And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy.

20And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live.

 21And the LORD said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock

And yet praise be to God that we can now see His face. We are able to stand upon the rock, Jesus Christ and we are able to see His glory as His awesome glory passes before us and comes to indwell us.

Mark 6

46And when he had sent them away, he departed into a mountain to pray.

 47And when even was come, the ship was in the midst of the sea, and he alone on the land.

 48And he saw them toiling in rowing; for the wind was contrary unto them: and about the fourth watch of the night he cometh unto them, walking upon the sea, and would have passed by them.

 49But when they saw him walking upon the sea, they supposed it had been a spirit, and cried out:

 50For they all saw him, and were troubled. And immediately he talked with them, and saith unto them, Be of good cheer: it is I; be not afraid.

 51And he went up unto them into the ship; and the wind ceased: and they were sore amazed in themselves beyond measure, and wondered.

Amen and amen!!!!

Noah dies at the age of 950. The ultimate tragedy is that no accomplishments are recorded during his last 350 years.

He could have experienced that thing so dreaded by men of faith, which is to be placed on the shelf by God

1Co 9:19  For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.

1Co 9:20  And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law;

1Co 9:21  To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law.

1Co 9:22  To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

1Co 9:23  And this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I might be partaker thereof with you.

1Co 9:24  Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain.

1Co 9:25  And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.

1Co 9:26  I therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air:

1Co 9:27  But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

