Genesis 15:1-6 The Alpha and Omega

Gen 15:1  After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward.

Gen 15:2  And Abram said, Lord GOD, what wilt thou give me, seeing I go childless, and the steward of my house is this Eliezer of Damascus?

Gen 15:3  And Abram said, Behold, to me thou hast given no seed: and, lo, one born in my house is mine heir.

Gen 15:4  And, behold, the word of the LORD came unto him, saying, This shall not be thine heir; but he that shall come forth out of thine own bowels shall be thine heir.

Gen 15:5  And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be.

Gen 15:6  And he believed in the LORD; and he counted it to him for righteousness.

Here we see a marvelous picture of the omnipotence and omnipresence of our Almighty All-knowing, All-seeing God.

Now God had promised seed to Abraham and in his haste to help out God he looks to external circumstances, which doesn’t always work, especially when dealing with God. Abraham does what we all do and he gets impatient in wanting to see the work of God, but we also get to see another aspect of the characteristics of God – His timing. His ways are not ours, His time is not ours, yet His time is perfect!!!

What does this tell us?

That God is not shackled to time and space as we know it, but that He sees the end from the beginning. He does not see our lives, as we see it. He sees our begininning and the end of our lives at the same time. He knows all and He sees all. He knows the choices that we will make and the end result from which we will end up.

What does that mean in the grand scheme of things?

I am not sure how He works in regards to our lives and outcomes, mainly salvation. The Bible tells me that He loved the world so much that He gave His only begotten Son in order for all to be saved. In Peter’s epistle, he tells us, through the penmanship of the Holy Spirit, that God wishes for all to be saved. But not all will be saved because not all will choose Him.

I don’t fall into the party lines of those who wish to believe that we are chosen beforehand as the elect, as some see it. Nor do I choose to believe that we are all predestined to either be saved or damned. But that is just me and how I choose to interpret Scripture.

Now whether God chooses us beforehand or whether in His infinite wisdom and for-knowledge, knowing that we will choose Him instead of our own way, He calls us because we will choose Him is another rabbit trail that I am not ready to get into but it does make certain passages make sence to me

Rev 1:8  I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty.

Rom 8:29  For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.

Rom 8:30  Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.

Mat 22:1  And Jesus answered and spake unto them again by parables, and said,

Mat 22:2  The kingdom of heaven is like unto a certain king, which made a marriage for his son,

Mat 22:3  And sent forth his servants to call them that were bidden to the wedding: and they would not come.

Mat 22:4  Again, he sent forth other servants, saying, Tell them which are bidden, Behold, I have prepared my dinner: my oxen and my fatlings are killed, and all things are ready: come unto the marriage.

Mat 22:5  But they made light of it, and went their ways, one to his farm, another to his merchandise:

Mat 22:6  And the remnant took his servants, and entreated them spitefully, and slew them.

Mat 22:7  But when the king heard thereof, he was wroth: and he sent forth his armies, and destroyed those murderers, and burned up their city.

Mat 22:8  Then saith he to his servants, The wedding is ready, but they which were bidden were not worthy.

Mat 22:9  Go ye therefore into the highways, and as many as ye shall find, bid to the marriage.

Mat 22:10  So those servants went out into the highways, and gathered together all as many as they found, both bad and good: and the wedding was furnished with guests.

Mat 22:11  And when the king came in to see the guests, he saw there a man which had not on a wedding garment:

Mat 22:12  And he saith unto him, Friend, how camest thou in hither not having a wedding garment? And he was speechless.

Mat 22:13  Then said the king to the servants, Bind him hand and foot, and take him away, and cast him into outer darkness; there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

Mat 22:14  For many are called, but few are chosen.

I don’t believe that He would ever limit Himself in order to give us a chance to choose His way or our own. He knows us and is He sees our whole lives in an instant than He knows the choices we will make.

Jer 1:5  Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

The most important thing to remember is that God loves His children and He will provide for what they need. He sees much further than we do.  He knows what is best for us. He knows much better than we do. What a Great and Almighty God we serve!!!!!

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

