Genesis 21:22-34: Isaac – The Son of Promise

Gen 21:22  And it came to pass at that time, that Abimelech and Phichol the chief captain of his host spake unto Abraham, saying, God is with thee in all that thou doest:

Gen 21:23  Now therefore swear unto me here by God that thou wilt not deal falsely with me, nor with my son, nor with my son’s son: but according to the kindness that I have done unto thee, thou shalt do unto me, and to the land wherein thou hast sojourned.

Gen 21:24  And Abraham said, I will swear.

Gen 21:25  And Abraham reproved Abimelech because of a well of water, which Abimelech’s servants had violently taken away.

Gen 21:26  And Abimelech said, I wot not who hath done this thing: neither didst thou tell me, neither yet heard I of it, but to day.

Gen 21:27  And Abraham took sheep and oxen, and gave them unto Abimelech; and both of them made a covenant.

Gen 21:28  And Abraham set seven ewe lambs of the flock by themselves.

Gen 21:29  And Abimelech said unto Abraham, What mean these seven ewe lambs which thou hast set by themselves?

Gen 21:30  And he said, For these seven ewe lambs shalt thou take of my hand, that they may be a witness unto me, that I have digged this well.

Gen 21:31  Wherefore he called that place Beersheba; because there they sware both of them.

Gen 21:32  Thus they made a covenant at Beersheba: then Abimelech rose up, and Phichol the chief captain of his host, and they returned into the land of the Philistines.

Gen 21:33  And Abraham planted a grove in Beersheba, and called there on the name of the LORD, the everlasting God.

Gen 21:34  And Abraham sojourned in the Philistines’ land many days.

 

Abraham meets up with Abimelech again.  Some commentators say that this might not be the same ruler, but verse 23 seems to suggest that this might actually be the same man.

Either way, this is a much more confident Abraham dealing with a pagan king in a pagan nation.  He doesn’t seem to be fearing for his life, or dealing falsely with those whom he is afraid of.

His confidence might have come from the birth of his son.  Maybe he had lost hope, or was afraid that God had forgotten him.  I can relate, especially when reading about Abraham and other giants of faith. When we read these stories and we see how God speaks to them, we sometimes miss the fact that usually there is a good amount of time, most of the time, in between each interaction.

I miss that sometimes when I am reading; it just seems like everything happens in a short amount of time and I forget that Abraham had a lot of quiet times in between his conversations with God.

Just like me.

Now he has a renewed confidence because the son of promise had been born, and he was reminded that God was and would be with him regardless of where he was and with whom he was dealing.

Isaac was a picture or type of the Son of Promise:

Both were specially promised sons

Both were born after a period of delay

Both mothers were assured by God’s omnipotence

Both were given names rich with meaning before they were born

Both births occurred at God’s set time

Both births were miraculous

Both births were accompanied by joy

 

You might be feeling like Abraham before the birth of his son.  You might feel like God has forgotten, or deserted you.

Don’t lose heart.

We too have seen the Son of Promise

Gal 4:3  Even so we, when we were children, were in bondage under the elements of the world:

Gal 4:4  But when the fulness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law,

Gal 4:5  To redeem them that were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons.

Gal 4:6  And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father.

Gal 4:7  Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

 

Heb_13:5  Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

 

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

