Genesis 31:25-35 – The cares of this world

25 When Laban overtook Jacob, Jacob had pitched his tent in the hill country, and Laban and his brothers also pitched their tents in the hill country of Gilead. 26 Then Laban said to Jacob, “What have you done? You have deceived me and taken my daughters away like prisoners of war! 27 Why did you secretly flee from me, deceive me, and not tell me? I would have sent you away with joy and singing, with tambourines and lyres, 28 but you didn’t even let me kiss my grandchildren and my daughters. You have acted foolishly. 29 I could do you great harm, but last night the God of your father said to me: ‘Watch yourself. Don’t say anything to Jacob, either good or bad.’ 30 Now you have gone off because you long for your father—but why have you stolen my gods?”

31 Jacob answered, “I was afraid, for I thought you would take your daughters from me by force. 32 If you find your gods with anyone here, he will not live! Before our relatives, point out anything that is yours and take it.” Jacob did not know that Rachel had stolen the idols.

33 So Laban went into Jacob’s tent, then Leah’s tent, and then the tents of the two female slaves, but he found nothing. Then he left Leah’s tent and entered Rachel’s. 34 Now Rachel had taken Laban’s household idols, put them in the saddlebag of the camel, and sat on them. Laban searched the whole tent but found nothing.

35 She said to her father, “Sir, don’t be angry that I cannot stand up in your presence; I am having my period.” So Laban searched, but could not find the household idols.

 

Laban shows the true reason why he had been hunting Jacob down.  He needed to get his idols back.  Laban and Jacob had gone back and forth cheating and one-uping each other for twenty years and now the tension that they shared was about to come to a head.  Of course, Laban blames everything on Jacob leaving with his daughters and grand-children, but in truth he was only worried about his household idols, the one last link to his fortune.  In other words, he cared more about money than anything else and in that light, and by the warnings from God, he was more worried about the cares of the world than about anything else, and he showed that he would do and say anything in order to get what he wanted.

His influence spilled over into his children because we see the same actions in Rebekah as she steals and lies about her father’s idols.

Jesus tells us that the cares of this world will choke out everything that is place or planted into our hearts.

Matthew 13:18-23

Why are you close to others?

Is if for what they can give you or what you could possibly get from them?

Do you worry about money more than you pray?

I was once just like Laban and I still struggle with my motives and with worry about the very things that Jesus warns us about.  I want to allow the seed to grow in my heart and with prayer and the realization that I do have these issues it gets a little easier everyday.  Most of all, I want to be the right example for my children.

My prayer for you is that if you have the same issues, that it will get a little easier for you as well

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

