Genesis 35: 9-15 – The will of man

9 And God appeared unto Jacob again, when he came out of Padanaram, and blessed him.

10 And God said unto him, Thy name is Jacob: thy name shall not be called any more Jacob, but Israel shall be thy name: and he called his name Israel.

11 And God said unto him, I am God Almighty: be fruitful and multiply; a nation and a company of nations shall be of thee, and kings shall come out of thy loins;

12 And the land which I gave Abraham and Isaac, to thee I will give it, and to thy seed after thee will I give the land.

13 And God went up from him in the place where he talked with him.

14 And Jacob set up a pillar in the place where he talked with him, even a pillar of stone: and he poured a drink offering thereon, and he poured oil thereon.

15 And Jacob called the name of the place where God spake with him, Bethel.
So now God is reaffirming to Jacob the promise of the covenant and reminding him of his new name – Israel which means “Prince” and could possibly mean “governed by God” God told him to go back to Bethel which he had done and now he was being blessed. The first time we see his name change is in Chapter 32 when he was wrestling with God.

24 And Jacob was left alone; and there wrestled a man with him until the breaking of the day.

25 And when he saw that he prevailed not against him, he touched the hollow of his thigh; and the hollow of Jacob’s thigh was out of joint, as he wrestled with him.

26 And he said, Let me go, for the day breaketh. And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me.

27 And he said unto him, What is thy name? And he said, Jacob.

28 And he said, Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel: for as a prince hast thou power with God and with men, and hast prevailed.
It seems that Jacob was very strong willed. He trusted in God but he also trusted in his own schemes and his own power. He would not let go and at first I thought this was a good thing until I heard a sermon that gave me a new perspective.

Jacob had a hold on God and the only way He could make Jacob let go was by touching his thigh.

My first thought was that this might be a good thing because he must be doing this because he loved the Lord so much, but on second thought, perhaps it wasn’t such a good thing to wrestle this way with God.
We have all acted in the same way that Jacob was acting. Sometimes we wrestle with the Lord and we don’t hear the things that He is trying to impart to us because we are set in a certain way and our will is against His.
Sometimes the only way He can get through to us is by causing or allowing something to happen and then our walk and our lives might be changed for the worse and we miss out in a blessing.
This caused me to wonder how many times I may have missed out on a blessing because my will was set against the will of the Lord.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

