Genesis 37:1-2 Joseph as a picture of Jesus Christ

1And Jacob dwelt in the land wherein his father was a stranger, in the land of Canaan.

2 These are the generations of Jacob. Joseph, being seventeen years old, was feeding the flock with his brethren; and the lad was with the sons of Bilhah, and with the sons of Zilpah, his father’s wives: and Joseph brought unto his father their evil report.

25 percent of Genesis is devoted to the story of Joseph.  I believe it is because we can see two things:

  1. He is a perfect and beautiful picture of Jesus Christ
  2. He is a perfect and beautiful example of how we can live our lives as children of God.

 

In verse 2 we find out that Joseph is 17 years old when his portion of Genesis is told and that he brought a bad report to his father about his brothers.  Some might see him as a tattle-tale, but we can learn something from this first portion:

Joseph dwelt with his father and he was in harmony with his father.  He was also more concerned with what his father thought than his brothers.

 

Like Joseph, Jesus was about His Father’s business

Luke 2

41 Now his parents went to Jerusalem every year at the feast of the passover.

42 And when he was twelve years old, they went up to Jerusalem after the custom of the feast.

43 And when they had fulfilled the days, as they returned, the child Jesus tarried behind in Jerusalem; and Joseph and his mother knew not of it.

44 But they, supposing him to have been in the company, went a day’s journey; and they sought him among their kinsfolk and acquaintance.

45 And when they found him not, they turned back again to Jerusalem, seeking him.

46 And it came to pass, that after three days they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the doctors, both hearing them, and asking them questions.

47 And all that heard him were astonished at his understanding and answers.

48 And when they saw him, they were amazed: and his mother said unto him, Son, why hast thou thus dealt with us? behold, thy father and I have sought thee sorrowing.

49 And he said unto them, How is it that ye sought me? wist ye not that I must be about my Father’s business?

50 And they understood not the saying which he spake unto them.

Like Joseph, Jesus is in harmony with His Father

John 15

15 Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.

16 Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.

Like Joseph, His Father was pleased with Jesus

Matthew 3

16 And Jesus, when he was baptized, went up straightway out of the water: and, lo, the heavens were opened unto him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and lighting upon him:

17 And lo a voice from heaven, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.

Are you about the business of God?

Are you in harmony with His purpose and is He pleased with your actions?

 

At any given point in life we will either be:

In the fear of the Lord or in the fear of man.  We will either be worried about what God thinks or what man think about us or our actions.

 

Proverbs 1

7 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

