Genesis 49:22-26 Joseph: Fruitfulness through Jesus Christ

22 Joseph is a fruitful bough, even a fruitful bough by a well; whose branches run over the wall:

23 The archers have sorely grieved him, and shot at him, and hated him:

24 But his bow abode in strength, and the arms of his hands were made strong by the hands of the mighty God of Jacob; (from thence is the shepherd, the stone of Israel:)

25 Even by the God of thy father, who shall help thee; and by the Almighty, who shall bless thee with blessings of heaven above, blessings of the deep that lieth under, blessings of the breasts, and of the womb:

26 The blessings of thy father have prevailed above the blessings of my progenitors unto the utmost bound of the everlasting hills: they shall be on the head of Joseph, and on the crown of the head of him that was separate from his brethren.

 

Jacob’s blessing for Joseph was fruitfulness.  His descendants, Ephraim and Manasseh would become the most populated of all the tribes, and it would be through Ephraim that he would truly be blessed with fruitfulness.

Ephraim would eventually absorb 10 of the tribes of Israel, leaving only Judah and Benjamin left.  Joseph would also see the promise of the “fullness of the Gentiles” when this 10 tribe group known as Ephraim was conquered and scattered by Assyria  among the Gentile nations.

Joseph is the only mortal man, aside from Daniel, who has no recorded account of doubt in God.  His story is something we could all aspire too.  His brothers hated him; he was kept in prison against his will for a long time because of something he did not do.  Yet through all of this calamity, he never loses hope or faith in God.  I can’t say that.  I have experienced doubt in the last 24 hours for something much smaller in relation to anything Joseph experienced.

What was his secret?

Jacob tells us that he was aided by God:

24 But his bow abode in strength, and the arms of his hands were made strong by the hands of the mighty God of Jacob; (from thence is the shepherd, the stone of Israel:)

It’s as if God’s Hands were on Joseph’s hands, guiding him in and through everything, even when Joseph didn’t notice.

25 Even by the God of thy father, who shall help thee; and by the Almighty, who shall bless thee with blessings of heaven above, blessings of the deep that lieth under, blessings of the breasts, and of the womb:

26 The blessings of thy father have prevailed above the blessings of my progenitors unto the utmost bound of the everlasting hills: they shall be on the head of Joseph, and on the crown of the head of him that was separate from his brethren.

We also get to see a glimpse of the relationship between God and Jacob.  God is no longer the God of his fathers’ but now Jacob knew God personally.

How can we know God personally?

Through Jesus Christ!

Notice that two of the titles of God are “the shepherd,” and “the stone of Israel.”

Jesus is the Great Shepherd:

Hebrews 13:

20 Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant,

Jesus is a stumbling stone for those who won’t accept Him:

Romans 9:

30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.     31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.                         32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumbling stone ;             33 As it is written , Behold , I lay in Sion a stumblingstone and rock of offence: and whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed .

Jesus is the Living Cornerstone for those who love Him:

1 Peter 2:

1 Wherefore laying aside all malice, and all guile, and hypocrisies, and envies, and all evil speakings,                                 2 As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby: 3 If so be ye have tasted that the Lord is gracious.             4 To whom coming , as unto a living stone, disallowed indeed of men, but chosen of God, and precious,                                 5 Ye also, as lively stones, are built up a spiritual house, an holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices, acceptable to God by Jesus Christ.         6 Wherefore also it is contained in the scripture, Behold , I lay in Sion a chief corner stone, elect, precious: and he that believeth on him shall not be confounded.                                             7 Unto you therefore which believe he is precious: but unto them which be disobedient , the stone which the builders disallowed , the same is made the head of the corner,                                         8 And a stone of stumbling, and a rock of offence, even to them which stumble at the word, being disobedient : whereunto also they were appointed.

9 But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light:                     10 Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.

He is our direct expression of God and it is through Him that we, like Joseph, can become fruitful:

John 15:

1 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman.                 2 Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away : and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit.     3 Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.         4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.             5 I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.     6 If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered ; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned .     7 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will , and it shall be done unto you.                                 8 Herein is my Father glorified , that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.

9 As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. 10 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love.                 11 These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full .

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Genesis Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

