Exodus 3:10-12 Who am I?

10 Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.

11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

 

Moses had grown up in the luxury of Egypt.  He had enjoyed the best in education, food, and the best that Egypt had to offer.  Stephen tells us in Acts that he was learned in the wisdom of Egypt and mighty in word and deed.  He had also come to the understanding that in some way he would liberate his brethren.

Yet this didn’t happen.  Things didn’t work out like he had imagined.  He had been rejected by his people, pursued by Pharaoh, and by the look of things, abandoned by God and he soon found himself in a dry, desolate, place; physically and mentally.

Moses had spent 40 years thinking he was somebody and he now had spent 40 more years believing he was wrong about everything and a nobody as he settled into a life of marriage, work, and a quiet life as a shepherd in the desert.

Now God was paying him a visit through a burning bush.

I think that the problem Moses had was something that we all share.  It had been all about him and what he could do for God and this would have kept him from noticing anything else especially when the Lord was trying to speak to him.

We feel the call of God for ministry or service and we start out like a fireball for God and yet there are times when we can get the notion that God can’t do His work without us.

This thinking almost always leads to some kind of failure or rejection in our lives and we get the idea that God can’t or won’t use us and then our lives are turned upside down and we either become burnt up or burnt out.

Moses was surrounded by nothing and he must have had time to reflect on his God and his role in life and the purposes of his Maker in all of this and I wonder if his father-in-law had a hand in his development out here.

God spoke to him out of the bush only when he noticed it and this meant he was ready mentally to be used by Him.  Moses was about to find out what it would be like to burn for the Lord like the bush, but not be consumed.

This should be our goal.

The Lord tells Moses that He will send him to deliver His people.  Moses should have been happy that he would finally be used by God as he had thought in the beginning, but he doesn’t seem to be happy at all about it.

“Who am I?” he asks God, “I am nobody! I was rejected by my people and I am not confident enough now to be used.”’  You see he still had the wrong idea about the call of God in his life.  He had obviously not lost faith in God but his ideas about Him and himself must have changed. His wilderness experience had brought him closer to God and to the point where he felt that he was useless for the work of God.  He was burnt out.

We should rejoice when we find ourselves in the desolate wilderness times in our walk with the Lord because through this we learn to be closer to Him and we can see His work in our lives more clearly.

In doing so we will become more like this bush that God was using.

The bush was on fire for God and this should be our goal in our walk, in our ministry, we should be on fire, burning for God; for His work, but not consumed by it and this only comes when we realize that we work through His power and not ours.

We see this through the promises for Moses:

12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

He tells Moses that He will be with him and He gives him the promise that he and the people will come to this very mountain to worship the Lord.

 

The key is not “Who am I but Who is with me!”

Whose power am I working through?  His power or mine.  If I am working through my power then I will end up burnt out or burnt up.

If I am working through His power then I will be burning for God but not consumed.

Jesus visited His Disciples on another mountain and there He gave them and us the same promise that the Lord gives Moses.

 

Matthew 28:

 

16 Then the eleven disciples went away into Galilee, into a mountain where Jesus had appointed them.

17 And when they saw him, they worshipped him: but some doubted.

18 And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.

19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

20 Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Exodus Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

