Exodus 3:13-22 I AM what you need

 

13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?

14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, the Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

16 Go, and gather the elders of Israel together, and say unto them, The Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, of Isaac, and of Jacob, appeared unto me, saying, I have surely visited you, and seen that which is done to you in Egypt:

17 And I have said, I will bring you up out of the affliction of Egypt unto the land of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites, unto a land flowing with milk and honey.

18 And they shall hearken to thy voice: and thou shalt come, thou and the elders of Israel, unto the king of Egypt, and ye shall say unto him, The Lord God of the Hebrews hath met with us: and now let us go, we beseech thee, three days’ journey into the wilderness, that we may sacrifice to the Lord our God.

19 And I am sure that the king of Egypt will not let you go, no, not by a mighty hand.

20 And I will stretch out my hand, and smite Egypt with all my wonders which I will do in the midst thereof: and after that he will let you go.

21 And I will give this people favour in the sight of the Egyptians: and it shall come to pass, that, when ye go, ye shall not go empty.

22 But every woman shall borrow of her neighbour, and of her that sojourneth in her house, jewels of silver, and jewels of gold, and raiment: and ye shall put them upon your sons, and upon your daughters; and ye shall spoil the Egyptians.

 

God had come to Moses to send him back to Egypt to deliver Israel.  He had called to him through the bush and promised to be with him through the whole process.  Moses had a problem though, not with his calling but what should he call God.

He asks the Lord, “What name do I give the people when they ask me Yours?”

Why would he ask this kind of thing?

Now he did know the name that his ancestors used and this was El Shaddai, or God of the Mountain.

His other issue was that the people of Israel had been living in Egypt for around 4 centuries and they had taken on many of the ways of their slave owners.  This included knowing the personal names of their pagan gods.  These personal name denoted special characteristics about their gods and through this one could manipulate them to do their bidding.

God knew full well that this was the case so He gave Moses a name but this was not His Personal Name “YHWH” which He gives him in verse 15.

“I AM THAT I AM”  Tell them I AM has sent you.

He also gives Moses and the Elders more promises:

I have visited you

I have seen what is done to you in Egypt.

I will bring you up out of your affliction

I will smite Egypt with a Mighty Hand.

I will give you favor in the sight of the Egyptians.

 

Notice again that God has given the people everything that they need to know in regards to their safety and the outcome of this whole ordeal but He tells them to only ask for a three day retreat in order to worship Him.

God had a very specific reason for this.

He knew that the Pharaoh would not even let Israel leave for three days much less leave the country completely.  He knew that He would smite Egypt and deliver His people and that Everyone would know that it was the God of Israel.

That was the purpose of the Lord giving Moses and the people the Name “I AM THAT I AM.”

God was telling them that He was EVERYTHING that they needed and everything that they required, but they needed to understand it for themselves.  They had spent so long in Egypt that they had come to like the conditions that they were living in, they just didn’t like being slaves.  God had to get them to the point that they wanted to separate from the pagan worship and culture that they were living in.  He wanted them all to Himself so that He could teach them what proper worship and freedom was.

This is still a problem for the people of God today.

We live and work in this world but we must strive to be separate from and not part of this world as we worship the Great I AM, but it is still a struggle and just as Israel will soon see that everything we do under the Law, in our own strength is only temporary and only partial.

But we have the blessing of the One who fills in the blanks for us…….Jesus Christ.

 

John 8:

 

54 Jesus answered, If I honour myself, my honour is nothing: it is my Father that honoureth me; of whom ye say, that he is your God:

55 Yet ye have not known him; but I know him: and if I should say, I know him not, I shall be a liar like unto you: but I know him, and keep his saying.

56 Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad.

57 Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham?

58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

59 Then took they up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.

 

Are you lost?

He is the Light – John 9:5

 

Are you hungry?

He is the Bread of Life – John 6:35

 

Are you thirsty? – John 7:37-38

 

Do you need direction?

Do you need the truth?

Do you need salvation?

He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life – John 14:6

 

Do you need access?

He is the Door – John 10:7-10

 

Do you need hope?

He is the resurrection – John 11:25

Do you feel alone?

He is with you – Matthew 28:18-20

 

He is the Alpha and Omega!!!!

 

Revelation 1:
8 I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Exodus Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

