Exodus 4:10-17 The “All Things” in the life of Moses

10 And Moses said unto the Lord, O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.

11 And the Lord said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the Lord?

12 Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say.

13 And he said, O my Lord, send, I pray thee, by the hand of him whom thou wilt send.

14 And the anger of the Lord was kindled against Moses, and he said, Is not Aaron the Levite thy brother? I know that he can speak well. And also, behold, he cometh forth to meet thee: and when he seeth thee, he will be glad in his heart.

15 And thou shalt speak unto him, and put words in his mouth: and I will be with thy mouth, and with his mouth, and will teach you what ye shall do.

16 And he shall be thy spokesman unto the people: and he shall be, even he shall be to thee instead of a mouth, and thou shalt be to him instead of God.

17 And thou shalt take this rod in thine hand, wherewith thou shalt do signs.

 

Moses is still arguing with God and so far he is losing but it looks as though he has one more excuse up his sleeve.

His next excuse is, “I can’t speak well enough for You to use me!”

The Lord’s response slightly suggests that he may have had some kind of problem with his speech, but never tells us for sure.  Tradition tells us that he actually did have a speech impediment that came about when he was three years old.  It states that the King of Egypt at the time was counseled to place a test before the Moses as a small child to see whether he would ultimately live or be killed on the spot.  An onyx stone and a coal of fire were placed before him and his choice decided the outcome and guided by the angel Gabriel, he chose the coal of fire.  The coal burnt his hand, his lips, and his tongue, and this is what caused him to be slow of speech and tongue for the rest of his life.

 

Scripture tells us another story through Stephen:

 

Acts 7:

 

20 In which time Moses was born, and was exceeding fair, and nourished up in his father’s house three months:

21 And when he was cast out, Pharaoh’s daughter took him up, and nourished him for her own son.

22 And Moses was learned in all the wisdom of the Egyptians, and was mighty in words and in deeds.

From this we know that he was a mighty leader and speaker.

So what was it?

Was he slow in speech?

 

Perhaps he was just rusty from being out there for so long, living this new and different life.  He had changed and that confidence that he once had was gone.  This played a major role in all of his excuses.  He did not believe that he was worthy to be used by God for anything and that is a good thing, but he took it a step further.  His confidence in God was now as bad or worse than his confidence in himself and this shows in his next statement.

 

13 And he said, O my Lord, send, I pray thee, by the hand of him whom thou wilt send.

 

“Send somebody else!”

 

Wrong answer.

 

Notice that the Lord’s anger is only kindled at this statement.  In all of his other excuses, Moses is really only saying, “I am not so sure that I am the right guy for this Lord,” and his reluctance only supports the fact that he is a prophet called by God.

The difference is that in this last statement, he is telling the Lord, “You are wrong about everything, especially me, I don’t want to be a part of what You are doing.”

He is outright rejecting God.

 

Yet, even though his anger is kindled, God still plays along with Moses, giving him solutions so that he has no more excuses and no way out of the will of God for his life.

 

Moses had allowed his situation and circumstances in life to affect his outlook.  Sound familiar?

 

He didn’t see it right now but God would use all of his experiences that he was learning here for His people later on.  They would need to know what Moses was learning in order to survive and that wouldn’t happen is he had stayed in the palace.  And at the same time, Moses would not have understood Egypt as well had he not been raised by the daughter of Pharaoh.

The most freeing thing in my life was realizing that I am exactly where I am supposed to be in life as long as I am in Christ, regardless of the situation I find myself in or the circumstances that occur around me.

I might not like my situation or appreciate my circumstances but they are happening because I am learning something for later on in my life in order to help someone else.

Many times we get stuck in the “right now” and not the “later on” in life and that is where we can become bitter and unusable.

Paul gives us the same idea.

 

Romans 8:

28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

29 For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.

30 Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.

31 What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?

32 He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?

33 Who shall lay anything to the charge of God’s elect? It is God that justifieth.

34 Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us.

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.

37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 

All things, not some things or most things…..all things are for your good if you love the lord and live In Christ.

We need to remember this fact when we start complaining about our situations or circumstances.

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Exodus Bible Study and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exodus 4:10-17 The “All Things” in the life of Moses

  1. Breezyttw says:

    Hallelujah! Thank you for this insight! This is exactly where I am with God today.

Leave a Reply

