Thought for Today – A Ministry of John Palatucci

Good morning,

 

Thought for today

 

“Let no one say when he is tempted, ‘I am tempted by God,’ for God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does He Himself tempt anyone.” (James 1:13) When we encounter trouble in life, when we suffer disappointment, turmoil or tragedy, we may be tempted to lay the blame at God’s door. We may even say, “Why is God doing this to me?” In our own thinking, and perhaps in the presence of others, we may complain of our difficulty and then claim that GOD DID THIS TO ME. Such accusations and bitterness could even reach the level of Mrs. Job, who said to her suffering husband: “Do you still hold to your integrity? Curse God and die!” She was blaming God, and sharing her unbelief and bitterness with her husband. God has done marvelous things for every one of us. His strength and wisdom, His grace and mercy are manifested in many ways, some we may not fully know and appreciate. But when it comes to a variety of things we commonly complain about, it must be affirmed that “God Didn’t Do That”. If you have made some dreadful mistakes in your life and you are now facing the results of your wrong choices and habits, God didn’t do that to you. If you rushed into a marriage without maturity, prayer and wisdom, if you got married too early in life, if you made a whole series of wrong choices in your early years, and you are now suffering, it is not right to accuse God in these matters. God didn’t cause you or I to make those decisions we may now regret. If we made some impulsive decisions in our youth, we must not blame all our trouble on God. Further more, if you have a personal history of unwise spending; too much debt; and you are now reaping the results of that, God didn’t do that to you. God didn’t force you into a single purchase, that hastened you down the road to excess. He didn’t send you a credit card, and didn’t lead you to the mall. If you have “maxed” out a dozen credit cards and you now find yourself with no cash for groceries, behind in your payments , you must not blame God for all that. Isn’t it remarkable, when we enjoy prosperity or have a financial surplus, we tend to congratulate ourselves, “I worked hard now look at what I have to show for my hard work” Then a few years later when we have spent our surplus and squandered our goods on foolish living, we blame God for our poverty. We take credit for the good times, then blame God for the bad. Oh the fools that we are!

 

 

Lord God, thank You for all You have blessed me with, and even for what You have taken away. Forgive me for the times I have blamed You for the bad things in my life, and not even considering that it was my choices that near sunk my ship, noy Your doing. Help me today to be a testimony to those I come in contact with, that everyone will see something different in me, and want what I have, that being Jesus Christ and it is in His name I pray,

 

Blessings

 

“In the beginning God………………..” !

About Clint Rodgers

I am a father of 2 wonderful children and the husband of a beautiful woman who has taught me more about compassion for goofballs than I could have ever learned. I have know Jesus for many years but about 5 years ago I truly met Him and now I do my best to follow Him as I walk in this world
This entry was posted in Thought for today - John Palatucci. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.